Morganzo 55 Wrap-up

The task: ride 55 miles of unforgiving gravel in the first ever Morganzo 55: Double Nickels on the Grime.

click for full map

The players: a ragtag collection of has-beens and never wases...
 (l to r: Jon W, Amy C, Matthew T, Lincoln J, Sam H, your author)

The purpose: the endless pursuit of beauty by bicycle

The challenge: impassible roads, unquenchable thirst

 The reward...

Matthew Thomsen wins the Morganzo Trophy as first overall unsupported badass cyclist. 

Amy Chiuchiolo wins the Hardcore Trophy for killing it in the Morganzo and then riding the Bangtail Divide immediately after. Seriously.

Sam Haraldson wins the Troll Trophy for slaying the hilly Morganzo on only 8 gears. 

Lincoln Jamrog wins the International Trophy for coming all the way from Livingston and building bridges made of gravel. 

Jon Wareham wins the Spirit Award for his positive attitude during multiple mechanicals.

The Minutemen - "This Ain't No Picnic" from  Double Nickels on the Dime

The Minutemen - "Corona" from  Double Nickels on the Dime

Thanks to all the participants and we'll see ya in 2013.


Post a Comment